Jelastic 7.0

This document is preliminary and subject to change.

In this document, you will find all of the new features, enhancements and visible changes included to the Jelastic PaaS 7.0 release.

Extended Account Collaboration

Reworked the account collaboration feature to provide better flexibility and cover more use casesLearn more

API Changes

Listed all the changes to the public Jelastic API in the current releaseLearn more

Software Stack Versions

Actualized list of supported OS templates and software stack versionsLearn more

Fixes Compatible with Prior Versions

Bug fixes implemented in the current release and integrated into the previous Jelastic versions through the appropriate patchesLearn more

Bug Fixes

List of fixes applied to the platform starting from the current releaseLearn more

Extended Account Collaboration

Jelastic’s account collaboration feature is a powerful tool that allows multiple users to work on the same project. The core idea is straightforward - you can share your environment with other accounts on the platform. Additionally, different permissions can be provided to the collaboration members to cover various use cases.

In the current 7.0 upgrade, the feature received a major rework, mainly focusing on extending its flexibility. Two focal points are roles and policies mechanics for advanced permission management and integration with environment groups to better organize shared components. All the features are wrapped in a new comprehensive UI:

  • Shared by Me - collaboration options for the primary account, it has three tabs:
    • Members - manages a list of collaboration members (invite new users, suspend or remove existing ones, customize shared environments, groups, roles, etc.)
    • Roles - configures custom roles (a combination of policies) that create the required range of actions
    • Policies - lists actions (specific operations) that can be included in a role
  • Shared with Me - options for the collaboration members (accept/reject the invitation, view roles and policies, leave collaboration, etc.)

account collaboration

The new collaboration flow remains the same in principle but much more configurable in detail. In general, the primary account still sends a collaboration invite, and the user can accept it. However, instead of the two predefined collaboration roles (admin and user), you can manually create as many roles with different permissions as you need. Also, in addition to the ability to share separate environments, it is now possible to share environment groups, which can help organize things on the primary account in a much easier and clearer way.

You can find information on even more changes to the collaboration feature (ability to temporarily suspend collaboration, role assigning algorithm, direct environment sharing, etc.) in the dedicated documentation:

Note: During the upgrade, the platform automatically generates configurations equivalent to the existing collaboration setup (if any) so that existing collaborations may continue their work as usual.

More info

Back to the top

API Changes

This information will be provided in the nearest future.

More info

Back to the top

Fixes Compatible with Prior Versions

This information will be provided in the nearest future.

Back to the top

Software Stack Versions

The software stack provisioning process is independent of the platform release, which allows new software solutions to be delivered as soon as they are ready. However, due to the necessity to adapt and test new stack versions, there is a small delay between software release by its respective upstream maintainer and integration into Jelastic PaaS.

The most accurate and up-to-date list of the certified software stack versions can be found on the dedicated documentation page.

More info

Back to the top

Bug Fixes

This information will be provided in the nearest future.

Back to the top